​Here at York Chapter #67

​The Judge Tobin Award is a once in a lifetime award that recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions of time and effort for the good of our Chapter and is thoroughly dedicated to our club. While this award is awarded by our chapter to one of our own members it is a nationally recognized award for outstanding volunteerism and presented to the Chapter at the Annual National Convention.

Any member may nominate another who has been a member in good standing for more than two years for consideration. A Committee consisting of all previous Judge Tobin Award recipients from our chapter will be invited to review the nominations at a meeting in February of each year and select one person to receive the award. The selection will be kept secret until the presentation of the award.

The Chapter President will appoint a previous Tobin recipient as Chairperson of the Tobin Committee in January who will schedule the committee meeting, announce it in the monthly newsletter, and preside over the meeting. The Chairperson will also submit the necessary paperwork to Nationals for the award selection.

Judge Tobin Member Achievement Award

Excerpt from the National Organization award application

Who is the dedicated Ike among your chapter members—the one who shows up for all meetings, signs up first for work crews, serves on committees, helps maintain chapter grounds, and makes the organization run more smoothly? Who is the key volunteer for your chapter’s conservation projects or outdoor activities? Give your chapter’s outstanding volunteer a hearty “thank you” by nominating her or him for the Izaak Walton League’s 2023 Judge John W. Tobin Chapter Volunteer Appreciation Award.

Established in 1976 by past IWLA President Judge John W. Tobin, and in cooperation with the IWLA Endowment, the award is a great way to thank Ikes for their hard work. It is also a way to link chapters and national directors since it is presented by a national director at a chapter meeting or event. Every chapter is encouraged to present a Tobin Award to one of its members each year